On Sunday, June 30, OSSM honors the 36th anniversary of HR1286–legislation that established the academic institution. Signed by Governor George Nigh and Secretary of State Phipps, the legislation was codified in the Oklahoma Statutes as Section 1210.401 of Title 70. “A secondary school to be known as the Oklahoma School of Science and Mathematics is hereby established to be governed by a board of trustees as created in this section.” Dan Little was appointed our first chairman and remains in this position to today.