Semifinalists in the 2019 National Merit Scholarship Competition

Oklahoma City, OK. (September 12, 2018) –Seventeen juniors from Oklahoma School of Science and Mathematics (OSSM) have been named Semifinalists in the 2018 National Merit Scholarship Competition.  These academically talented high school students have the opportunity to continue in the competition for 7,500 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $31 million.

The seventeen Semifinalists from OSSM include Albany Blackburn (Deer Creek-Lamont HS/Nardin), Michael Cheng (Classen SAS/Oklahoma City), Arjun Ganeson (Newport HS/Oklahoma City), Peter Ha (Bishop Kelley HS/Muskogee),Jeanette Hoang (Classen SAS/Oklahoma City), Addie Kammerlocher (Newcastle HS/Norman), Adhya Kumar (Edmond North HS/Edmond), Alejandro Lozano-De Aos (Classen SAS/Nichols Hills), Brad Luo (Edmond Santa Fe HS/Edmond), Jack MacKay (Pryor HS/Pryor), Brittany Shrader (Edmond Santa Fe HS/Edmond), Catherine Tang (Edmond Santa Fe HS/Edmond),William Wang (Jenks HS/Tulsa), Kevin Wiafe (Bethany HS/Bethany),Benjamin Xia (Norman HS/Norman), Howard Zhong (Norman HS/Norman), and Tao Zhu (Norman HS/Norman).  Semifinalists must fulfill several requirements to advance to the Finalist level.  More than half of the Finalists will win a National Merit Scholarship, earning those students the Merit Scholar title.