Twenty-two Oklahoma School of Science and Mathematics (OSSM) seniors have been named semifinalists in the 2020 Competition for National Merit Scholarships.

More than 16,000 semifinalists were identified by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation in the 65th annual program. These high school seniors now have an opportunity to continue in the competition for 7,600 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $31 million. More than 1.5 million juniors in about 21,000 high schools entered the 2020 National Merit Scholarship program by taking the 2018 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test, which serves as an initial screen of program entrants.

Because the junior year is the first at OSSM, students began preparation for their standardized testing at their sending schools. While at OSSM, students increase their scores by an average of three points.

The OSSM semifinalists are: David Ban (Choctaw), Anika Bekkem (Edmond), Sam Bird (Edmond), Matt Carroll (Stillwater), Neil Chopra (Edmond), Helen Dai (Stillwater), Edwin Ding (Bartlesville), Ruth Anne Dunn (Edmond), Sophia Horner (Stillwater), Adarsh Kunnel (Yukon), Caitlin Le (Oklahoma City), Cindy Li (Stillwater), Alex Lin (Ponca City), Jolie Ma (Ardmore), Jessi Martin (Jones), Anthony Nguyen (Lawton), Erika Nguyen (Oklahoma City), Sophia-Joy Patrock (Tulsa), Hailan Qian (Norman), Pau Sang (Norman), Grace Wu (Edmond), Aaron Xue (Norman).

National Merit Scholarship winners of 2020 will be announced starting in April and concluding in July.