OSSM Celebrates 15 National Merit Semifinalists

Fifteen OSSM seniors have been named semifinalists in the 2023 Competition for National Merit Scholarships. The OSSM students are Jackson Copeland (Oklahoma City), Amanda Dai (Ardmore), Emmy Huang (Norman), AJ Jayasekar (Edmond), Janice Ku (Stillwater), Charles Liu (Stillwater), Damodar Pai (Edmond), Sourish Pasula (Edmond), Sarvesh Ramakrishnan (Edmond), Anoushka Sasikumar (Oklahoma City), Meena Seshadri (Norman), Jason Wang (Walnut, Calif.), Natalie Waters (Duncan), Brian Yang (Stillwater), and Alexander Zhao (Ardmore).
Selection as National Merit Semifinalists is based on performance on the PSAT test taken at the beginning of a student’s junior year, the first year of attendance at OSSM. “Being named a National Merit semifinalist is a great achievement,” said Edna McDuffie Manning, Ed.D., interim president of OSSM. “We congratulate our seniors and recognize their home high schools in helping prepare them for this challenging test.” 
To qualify as a National Merit semifinalist, students must score in the top 1.25 percent of the nation and in the 99thpercentile in their state on their junior year PSAT. Approximately 16,000 semifinalists were named by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation in the annual National Merit Scholarship program. These high school seniors now have an opportunity to continue in the competition for 7,500 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $30million that will be offered next spring. High school juniors entered the program by taking the 2021Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test, which serves as an initial screen of program entrants.