

Oklahoma School of Science and Mathematics 1141 North Lincoln Blvd. Oklahoma City, Okla. 73104 **Contact: Liz Heigle** Director of Public Information Phone: 405.522.7806 Email: Iheigle@ossm.edu

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Oklahoma School of Science and Mathematics Celebrates Twelve National Merit Finalists

Oklahoma City- (March 19, 2018)- Twelve Oklahoma School of Science and Mathematics (OSSM) seniors have been named as Finalists in the 2018 Competition for National Merit Scholarships.

Twelve students from OSSM will be considered for a scholarship for 2018. More than 7,500 Merit Scholarship winners from the group of 15,000 Finalists is now in progress with scholarship winners being announced in March.

The OSSM students who were named Finalists were: Joseph A. Coyer (Oklahoma City), Aniket Dehadrai (Norman), Kelsy Fu (Tulsa), Shubham Gulati (Edmond), Omar Khan (Edmond), Cullen Peters (Oklahoma City), Thomas Salas (Bennington), George Wang (Tulsa), Lydia Wang (Ardmore), Mark Wendelboe (Oklahoma City), Richard Xiao (Norman) and Mei Zhang (Edmond).

Established in 1955, National Merit Scholarship Corporation is an independent, not-forprofit organization that operates without government assistance. Since its founding, NMSC has recognized 2.9 million academically talented high school students and provided over 377,000 scholarships worth \$1.5 billion. The honors awarded by NMSC to exceptionally able students are viewed as definitive marks of excellence and contribute to developing future leaders.

OSSM is a residential high school for juniors and seniors from across the state and is the only one of its kind in Oklahoma. Its mission is to prepare young Oklahomans to think critically by excelling in the studies of science and mathematics. The curriculum is designed not only to immerse students in a rigorous two-year program of advanced physics, mathematics, biology, chemistry and humanities, but also to instill in them a sense of community service. For more information: <u>www.ossm.edu</u>.

###